DUI laws in Wisconsin make driving under the influence a very bad idea. While first offenses carry penalties, subsequent offenses will result in more serious penalties. If you live in, or plan to visit Wisconsin, you should also know additional laws were enacted in 2010. The state of Wisconsin does not want anyone to drink and drive.
The first time you are convicted, Wisconsin DUI laws include a fine between 50. and $300. Your driver’s license will be suspended for six to nine months. In some cases, drivers may be granted an occupational license. Occupational licenses are only good if you are required to drive for your job.
Under the DUI laws in Wisconsin, SR22 insurance is required for a first-time drunk driver. If you are required to have this insurance, your insurance rates can increase. This is not due to the SR22 insurance itself, but because you are considered a risky driver.
An alcohol assessment is mandatory for a first DUI conviction. It will be determined whether your DUI is due to a drinking problem.
Parts of the new DUI laws in Wisconsin cover ignition interlock devices. If your blood alcohol level is at .15 or higher, you will be required to have this device in your vehicle. Drivers who refuse to submit to a DUI test are also required to install the device. They are not allowed to drive any vehicle that does not have a device. This means having interlock devices in every vehicle you own, and not driving another persons vehicle.
Second offenses will result in more severe penalties. They can result in a jail term of up to six months, fines between $300. and 100., and a suspended license from twelve to eighteen months. You will not be eligible to use an occupational license for at least forty-five days. However, depending on your particular circumstances, loss of the license can extend up to a full year.
In addition to fines, there are other costs associated with the new DUI laws in Wisconsin. In the past, having a license reinstated after a DUI may have cost only $60. The cost for reinstatement is now $200.
When a driver commits a first offense in Wisconsin, the emphasis is on helping the person get treatment so he is less likely to drink and drive again. This does not mean Wisconsin does not take drunk driving seriously. The penalties are in place so residents and visitors to the state will think twice before breaking the law. If there is someone under age sixteen in your vehicle, first-time DUI is a misdemeanor. The best way to avoid a DUI arrest and conviction is to refrain from driving every time you use alcohol.