DUI Laws In Montana

According to the DUI Laws in Montana, a person can face a drunk driving charge if he or she is found operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled substance or a hallucinogenic drug that impair his or her driving ability. The legal limit of BAC (blood alcohol concentration level) in Montana is .08% and a person arrested for drunk driving for the first time in the state faces both criminal and administrative penalties. The penalties associated with first DUI offense in Montana are more severe for commercial drivers and juvenile offenders.

First DUI convictions in the state of Montana result in an administrative suspension of license for a minimum period of 6 months. To add to it, the convict is required to install an ignition interlock device following the reinstatement of his or her driving privileges, as per Montana DUI laws. This condition applies during the use of probationary license as well. Furthermore, DUI Laws in Montana mandate first time offenders to complete an alcohol or substance use dependency assessment for suspension reinstatement. As for the criminal penalties associated with first offense DUI in Montana, a convict has to serve a minimum mandatory jail term of 1 day that can extend up to 6 months depending on his or her BAC reading. That apart, a fine of up to 000 can be imposed on a first time offender in Montana.

Second drunk driving conviction in Montana carries a minimum mandatory incarceration of 7 days that can extend up to 6 months. The DUI Laws in Montana outline that the maximum jail term for a second DUI offense can extend up to 12 months if there is an underage passenger in the vehicle. To add to it, this conviction causes a suspension of license for 1 year with the option for applying for a probationary license after 45 days if the convict agrees to pay for the installation and maintenance of an ignition interlock device. Montana DUI laws also mandate the completion of a chemical dependency education course or treatment for reinstatement of driving privileges. The minimum fine for this conviction is $600.

Though a third offense DUI in Montana is considered a misdemeanor, it carries severe criminal and administrative penalties including a minimum jail time of 30 days if all passengers are over the age of 16 years. According to the DUI Laws in Montana, the court can sentence 1-year imprisonment for a third time offender and suspend his or her driver’s license for the same time. Fourth drunk driving conviction is a felony as per Montana DUI laws and punishable by imposing a fine of up to 0,000, suspension of driver’s license for 5 years, and prohibition to have alcohol or enter bars.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *