Driving under influence or DUI is a serious offense in Washington and carries strict penalties. According to the DUI laws in Washington, an adult with a BAC (blood alcohol content) level of .08 or higher and a minor with a BAC level of .02 or higher can be arrested under a DUI charge. The blood alcohol content level is determined by taking a breath analyzer test and some other field sobriety tests. As per Washington DUI laws, a driver charged with DUI or physical control is most likely to face a gross misdemeanor. The maximum penalty for this charge is jail time of up to 364 days and a fine of $5000.
As stated by DUI laws in Washington, different penalties are awarded for a driving under influence conviction depending on the breath test result and the criminal history of the driver. That apart, stricter punishment is awarded to those drivers who refuse to cooperate with the law enforcement officer after being pulled over. Drivers who refuse to take the breath or blood tests, thus violating the Implied Consent Law in Washington, also receive stricter punishment
The mandatory minimum penalty for first offense DUI in Washington when the breath test results indicate a BAC of less than .15% include 24 hours of jail time, 5 years probation, license suspension for 90 days, ignition interlock of 1 year, and a fine between $823 to $5000. A first time offender with a BAC of .15% or higher can be sentenced to serve a maximum jail time of 364 days and a minimum jail time of 48 hours. That apart, his or her driving privileges can be suspended for 1 to 2 years and he or she will have to pay a fine of ,015 to $5,000.
As per the DUI laws in Washington, the punishment for a second time offense include a minimum jail time of 30 days and a maximum jail time of 364 days. To add to it, the convicted driver can get a license suspension of 2 to 3 years, 5 years probation and ignition interlock, and mandatory drug or alcohol assessment. Washington DUI laws hand out most severe punishment to third time offenders, awarding them a jail time of 90 days and a maximum jail time of 364 days.
That apart, a judge can order an ignition interlock of 10 years for a third time DUI offender in Washington and order a probation of 5 years along with a court mandated alcohol or drug assessment prior to reissuing of driving license after the expiry of suspension period of 3 to 4 years. It is highly recommended to hire the services of one of the finest DUI attorney who has an in-depth knowledge of DUI laws in Washington to prevent a conviction or reduce the penalty.