The tough DUI laws in Oregon start when people apply for a driver’s license. Since operating a motor vehicle is a privilege and not a right, Oregon drivers give implied consent to be tested for intoxicants. If the person behind the wheel refuses, he or she will lose the right to drive for a period of time. Drivers over the limits will be arrested and charged with a misdemeanor unless it is their third conviction within 10 years. Then, the charge is a felony.
When drivers are asked to provide a sample of their breath, blood or urine, they can refuse. However, their driverâ€™s license will be suspended between 90 days and 3 years. Under Oregon DUI laws, this suspension starts 30 days after the arrest. If the driver wants to challenge the suspension, he or she has to notify the DMV in writing by 5 PM on the 10th day following the arrest. Successful challenges occur when the police officer does not attend the hearing, the paperwork is not complete or correct or the arresting officer neglected to file the report.
DUI Laws in Oregon
The charge in Oregon is driving under influence of intoxicants and called a DUII. The legal limit for alcohol is .08% for most drivers; miners and operators with a CDL license have lower limits. Intoxicants include liquor, controlled substances or inhalants, basically anything that impairs a person’s ability to drive, reason and react.
First Offense of Oregon DUI Laws
Since the diversion program allows the charge to be dismissed, eligible drivers pay the fees and undergo alcohol or drug treatment courses. Otherwise, convicted individuals get jail time of 2 to 10 days, probation, a fine between 000-$2000, additional court costs, and a license suspension of 1 year. All convictions require substance abuse treatment and attending a victim impact class.
Second and Third DUI Convictions In Oregon
Under the DUI law in Oregon, second convictions have increased probation and jail time of 8 to 30 days, fines between 500 and $3500, others costs and driving privileges revoked for 1 to 3 years. With the third conviction, probation can be longer than 3 years, and jail time is increased up to 180 days with fines going to $4000. The driverâ€™s licenses are revoked for a lifetime. Drivers convicted of felonies face probation times of up to five years and may even go to prison.
To protect its residents, the DUI laws in Oregon are strict. If people want to use intoxicants and drive, they face having their driver’s license suspended or revoked. Even first offenses with a diversion program are expensive; the best course of action is not to drive in this state while under the influence of intoxicants.