According to DUI laws in New Jersey, a defendant can be convicted of driving while intoxicated or driving under influence if his or her blood and breath tests show that he or she has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more. New Jersey DUI laws also state that a driver can be convicted of DUI if he or she fails the field sobriety tests administered by the law enforcement officer and performs poorly in the balancing test and staggers or slurs while speaking. Apart from that, operating a motor vehicle under the influence of a narcotic drug or a hallucinogenic drug can also lead to a DUI conviction in New Jersey.
As per DUI laws in New Jersey, the penalties for this offense vary based on the BAC reading and the criminal history of the defendant. For instance, the incarceration for a first time DUI offender in New Jersey includes a minimum of 12 hours and a maximum of 48 hours spent at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. New Jersey DUI laws also provide that the judge can order a jail term of up to 30 days for a person convicted of first offense. In addition to that, the personâ€™s license can be suspended for 3 months and he or she will have to pay a fine of up to ,000 and bear the court costs as well.
A first time offender with a BAC of .10% or more is awarded more severe punishment and can get a license suspension of 7 to 12 months. DUI laws in New Jersey also state that the court can order the installation of an ignition interlock device in the motor vehicle of a person convicted of driving under influence with a BAC of .10% or more. For a second offense, the fine can range from $500 to ,000 and the judge can order a community service of 30 days for the convicted. Furthermore, the convict has to pay the annual New Jersey DMV surcharge of 000 for 3 years and the court can revoke the registration certificates of the motor vehicle or mandate the installation of an Interlock Device for 1 to 3 years.
New Jersey DUI Laws and penalties are strictest for third offense that carries a fine of ,000, a minimum jail term of 180 days, and license suspension as well as revocation of registration for 10 years. This is in addition to the installation of an ignition interlock device for up to 3 years following restoration and payment of New Jersey DMV surcharge of 000 for 3 years. In order to prevent a DUI conviction, you should hire an experienced New Jersey DUI attorney who can build a strong case for you.