It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or above in the state of Nevada. A drunk driving conviction in Nevada carries serious criminal and administrative penalties and commercial drivers as well as drivers under the age of 21 years can get a DUI conviction even if their BAC level is lower than the legal limit of .08%. According to the DUI Laws in Nevada, a driver can be arrested and convicted of driving under the influence if he or she is intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled substance or a prescription drug that compromises his or her ability to drive.
As per the DUI Laws in Nevada, the administrative penalties applicable in the case of a first offense DUI arrest in the state include suspension of driving privileges for 90 days and installation of an ignition interlock device if the convict is granted a hardship license during the suspension period. Furthermore, the convicted person needs to complete DUI School and alcohol or substance abuse assessment to get his or her license reinstated. The criminal penalties associated with first offense DUI convictions in Nevada include mandatory incarceration for a minimum of 2 days that can go up to 6 months depending on the BAC reading. In addition to that, Nevada DUI laws require the convicted person to pay a fine of $400 to 000 excluding court costs and other charges related to the completion of the court’s sentence.
The penalties for a second DUI conviction in Nevada, as established in Section 484C.400 of Nevada DUI laws, include a minimum jail term of 10 days and a maximum jail term of 6 months. In addition to that, a person convicted of this misdemeanor is required to spend a minimum of 10 days and a maximum of 6 months in a residential alcohol treatment facility. Furthermore, the DUI Laws in Nevada grant a judge the right to order a second time offender to attend an additional outpatient treatment program apart from paying a fine of $750 to 000 or doing community service.
As per the DUI laws in Nevada, administrative penalties for drunken driving convictions in the state are awarded by the Department of Motor Vehicles while the court issues criminal penalties for the offense. These are most severe for a third DUI conviction that carries an incarceration of 1 to 6 years in Nevada State Prison and a fine in the range of $2,000 to $5,000. That apart, third DUI offense in Nevada carries the penalty of suspension of driver;s license for 3 years, a civil penalty of $35, installation of an ignition interlock device for 1 to 3 years, and suspension of motor vehicle registration.