As in most states in the US, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle if the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of the driver is .08% or more in the state of Nebraska. Nebraska DUI Laws specify lower BAC limits for commercial drivers and minors and impose strict penalties on offenders who flout these rules. The DUI Laws in Nebraska prohibit the consumption of alcohol, controlled substances such as cocaine and marijuana, and hallucinogenic prescription drugs that compromise the ability of the driver to navigate safely on the road. People convicted for driving with a BAC of more than .15% receive harsher punishment as per the DUI laws in Nebraska.
First offense DUI convictions in Nebraska carry mandatory incarceration of a minimum of 7 days and a maximum of 60 days. That apart, a first time offender is required to pay a fine of up to $500 and has to bear the expenses for an alcohol assessment as well as an alcohol treatment program, if so mandated by the court. First time offenders in Nebraska also get a license suspension of 90 days during which they need to use an ignition interlocking device if they want to get restrictive driving privileges.
The criminal and administrative penalties associated with second offense DUI convictions in Nebraska include a mandatory jail term of a minimum of 30 days and a maximum of 364 days, a minimum fine of $500 that can go up to 000 if the BAC reading is above .15%, and license suspension for 1 year. To add to it, Nebraska DUI Laws mandate the attendance of an alcohol treatment program for this offense and include a provision for vehicle impoundment as well as vehicle immobilization for a minimum of 5 days to 8 months maximum.
The DUI laws in Nebraska specify strict punishment for third time offenders. Third time conviction on a drunk driving charge in Nebraska carries a minimum mandatory jail sentence of 90 days that can go up to 1 year. That apart, the driver’s license of the convicted person is suspended for 2 to 15 years and his or her vehicle is immobilized for 5 days to 8 months. The minimum fine charged for third offense DUI convictions in Nebraska is $600 and can go up to 0,000 if the BAC reading of the convicted person is more than .15%.
Nebraska DUI Laws also outline the penalties for fourth and fifth drunk driving convictions in the state. These fall in the category of Class III Felony and can result in a jail term that lasts for decades. A person facing a DUI charge in Nebraska can plead guilty or not guilty and even take the plea bargain.