If you live in Iowa or plan to visit, there are some facts you should know about DUI laws in Iowa. There are penalties for driving under the influence, even if it is your first offense.
If this is your first conviction for drunk driving, you can expect to spend some time in jail. The DUI laws in Iowa require a first-time offender to spend at least forty-eight hours in jail. However, this is only the minimum. You could receive a sentence of up to one full year.
DUI laws in Iowa include a fine. You may be required to pay between $625. and 250.
Iowa DUI laws can include license suspension for your first offense. You can lose your driver’s license for 180 days.
While these are the standard requirements, your particular situation can result in other consequences. An ignition interlock device is one example. If the court orders you to do so, you must install one of these devices in your vehicle. Each time you want to drive, you will have to use the device to show you are not under the influence of alcohol.
The court can place additional requirements on your ability to drive. They can range from a variety of substance abuse programs to special classes for people who have received DUI convictions. You may also be required to perform community service.
It is important to note these penalties can be imposed the very first time you are arrested and convicted of drunk driving. If you make the mistake of doing it more than once, the penalties will be even more severe.
Iowa DUI laws are meant to discourage the practice of driving while intoxicated. While a person has passed the legal limit when his blood alcohol level reaches .08, DUI laws in Iowa also cover drugs. It is illegal to drive with any controlled substances in your body. Whether you use an illegal drug or a prescription medication that affects your ability to drive safely, you can be arrested for DUI.
Iowa has an implied consent law. This means whenever you drive, you are agreeing to submit to a DUI test. A police officer can ask you to take a breath, urine, or blood test if he or she suspects you of having drugs or alcohol in your system. Your license can be revoked for a year if you refuse the test.
Your gender, age, size, and other factors can affect blood alcohol levels. A person may feel he or she has not reached .08, while his or her driving ability is actually impaired. If you do not want to risk the time, expense, and embarrassment of a DUI, the best course of action is to avoid driving after you have consumed any alcohol or drugs.