DUI Laws In Maine

If you have been charged or are likely to be charged with driving under the influence you need legal representation. You will need a lawyer experienced with DUI laws in Maine.

Maine DUI laws are different from those in other states, though there may be some similarities. Like courts in other states there are instances where a revoked license for DUI can be reinstated early. This can occur when a driver petitions the court. A lawyer who understands the conditions for reinstatement can help with the petitioning process.

To petition for a license reinstatement the driver must have had 2 DUI convictions but no more than 3. The conditions for early reinstatement are tricky to interpret so a good attorney familiar with DUI laws in Maine is needed. An ignition interlock device may be installed depending on how the judge rules.

Maine DUI laws prohibit any driving from being on the road with a blood alcohol level of 0.08 or greater. The first offense can result in a fine of $500, up to three months in jail, and a three month suspension of the license. After the suspension is over the license is conditional for one year. During the conditional period an ignition interlock device is often used.

With a second office a driver can receive a ,000 fine, up to two years in jail, and a license suspension of 2 to 3 years. Because the penalties are severe having the right legal representation is a good idea.

There are often cases where an individual has been stopped without a cause, or has been improperly tested for sobriety. An attorney familiar with DUI laws in main can review all records and can determine if the proper procedures have been followed.

The laws in the state of Maine are particularly harsh for drivers under the age of 21 who are found to be driving while intoxicated. Drivers accept a license with a condition of implied consent. This means that refusal to take a blood, urine, or other test for blood alcohol content can get more time tacked on to a young driver’s sentence.

Because drivers who refuse to take a sobriety or blood test for alcohol face harsher fines and sentences, it is less likely a driver will refuse. Even if innocent the best move is to consent to testing and prove one’s innocence. However, to ensure that tests are conducted properly and that results are accurate an attorney should be involved.

The knowledgeable Maine attorney can protect those drivers who are wrongly accused and have passed sobriety and other tests. He or she will make sure the tests were conducted properly and investigate whether all Maine law enforcement procedures have been followed to the letter. When arrested for a DUI in Maine seeking the assistance of a lawyer is always the best plan of action.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *