DUI Laws In Oklahoma

There are many reasons to not drive under the influence of alcohol. The DUI laws in Oklahoma account for some of these reasons. Oklahoma DUI laws show driving after drinking is very unwise.

A jail sentence is one penalty under Oklahoma DUI laws. You will spend time in jail, even if you never committed a DUI offense before. A first-time offender can be incarcerated for as little as ten days, or as much as one year.

DUI laws in Oklahoma will also cost money. First, the fine itself can be up to 000. Second, you will also have to pay DUI fees. These fees are at least $300.

If you have an under-aged child with you in your vehicle, both of these penalties are more severe. You can spend up to four years in jail, and your DUI fine will be doubled.

Losing your license for 30 days is another penalty under the DUI laws in Oklahoma. You will also be required to take part in a substance abuse evaluation, to determine whether you need treatment for alcohol problems.

People who commit a second DUI offense will surely regret their decision. The fine can be increased to $2500. The prison term or treatment program can range between one and five years. While the second offense will mean losing driving privileges for six months, you will be required to have an ignition interlock device when you are allowed to drive again. This device will prevent you from operating your vehicle when you are under the influence of alcohol.

DUI laws in Oklahoma make second offenses a felony. If your previous offense occurred within the last ten years, it does not matter where it occurred. Even if you were convicted of DUI in a different state, a court in Oklahoma will count it against you when determining penalties. Drivers who commit a third offense can also lose their vehicles.

Oklahoma offers plea options. If you accept responsibility for your actions and waive your right to a trial, you are agreeing to appropriate punishments. However, you do have the right to a jury trial when you are charged with DUI.

In Oklahoma, a driver agrees to a DUI test simply by driving his vehicle. This is known as the implied consent law. If you refuse to submit to a test after being asked by a police officer, your license can be taken away immediately. While factors such as your driving record will be taken into consideration, there is the possibility of losing driving privileges between six months and three years. Refusing a test can also be held against you if you are prosecuted for DUI. It can be taken as an admission of guilt.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *