DUI Laws in Kentucky are on par with the rest of the United States. Convictions can place offenders before a judge and punishments range from incarceration to loss of driving privileges. The newer “per se law’ in Kentucky states drivers over the age of 21 who have an alcohol level above .08% will be charged with driving under the influence. Younger drivers, under the age of 21, will be charged with DUI if the level of alcohol in their system is .02% or higher.
DUI laws in Kentucky state that first time convictions can carry punishments at a minimum level. Jail time can be given and it may carry a sentence that starts with two days but can be given for up to 30 days. If the driver had an extremely high alcohol content in their systems while driving this could be considered an aggravated DUI and the lowest jail time they could possibly see would be four days. Fines for the DUI range from 200 on up to 400 USD. Sometimes the judge will order the drivers license to be suspended and the time period before obtaining a new one ranges from 30 to 120 days. Offenders may also be required to attend an alcohol and drug treatment program before regaining their license and for first time offenders they are usually required to attend these classes for 90 days. At times the judge may allow offenders to swap out jail time for performing community service. With a first time DUI offense the minimum amount of community service hours will be set at 48 hours but can be given up to 30 days.
Kentucky DUI laws require prosecutors to research back five years for each prior DUI conviction. Repeated offenders do receive harsher punishments than those of first time offenders.
With each conviction for a DUI in Kentucky the penalties get more severe. The second time a person is brought before the judge they could see jail times that start at seven days and can be incarcerated for as much as six months. Being charged with an aggravated DUI for the second time increases the minimum jail time to 14 days. Fines also increase with a second DUI and range from 350 to 500 USD. A suspended license cannot be obtained for a minimum of 12 months all the way to 18 months. The drug and alcohol treatment plans will also be placed on second time offenders and the minimum amount of time to attend the program before having the ability to regain driving privileges is increased to one year. The same applies for community service as the minimum amount of time offenders are punished with this task starts at ten days and can go up to six months.