Driving under the influence is viewed seriously in all the states in the USA, but laws and penalties vary from state to state. So if you are in Alabama and have been hauled up on a drunk driving charge, it makes sense to review the DUI laws in Alabama so that you understand the chances of your being convicted, and the other penalties and fines you may have to face.
Alabama DUI laws for drivers of non-commercial vehicles will have you facing a charge if your blood alcohol level is more than 0.08% or equal to it. A level equal or more than 0.04% is considered against the law if you are driving a commercial vehicle. DUI laws in Alabama are even stricter for drivers of daycare vehicles or school buses, and anything equal to or more than 0.02% is considered grounds for an arrest.
Penalties for a first offense of DUI laws in Alabama can lead to a 3 month or 90 day suspension of a driving license. However you can ask for an administrative hearing within 10 days of being charged, if you want to continue to drive during this period of license suspension, it is best to make such an appeal of a hearing through an DUI lawyer who is licensed to practice in Alabama. There is also the possibility that you may have to spend time in jail for a first time offense and this period can go up to a year. The jail sentence can depend on the circumstances of the case, and you may find that you have to face a long term if someone has been injured or killed because of your actions while under the influence. The presence of minors in your vehicle can also be viewed sternly and invited longer periods in jail. Fines for first time offenders can vary from $600 to ,200. Offenders will also have to go through a substance abuse program, and failure to do so can result in a driver’s license being canceled.
Under DUI laws in Alabama, a second offense is viewed much more seriously. If the offense takes place within 5 years of the first one, license revocation can extend up to a year, and you may just not be allowed to drive. Jail periods can extend to a year, and you may have to opt for 20 days of community service. Fines can vary from ,100 to $5,100. The attendance of a drug abuse program is of course mandatory.
Alabama DUI laws are still stricter for subsequent arrest for driving under the influence, and the offense can be classified as a felony leading to license revocation for much longer periods and similar longer jail terms and stiffer fines. An Alabama driving license means that you have implied consent for being tested when stopped on suspicion, and failure to allow this testing calls for license suspension.